What Inspired Me To Be A  Developer

What Inspired Me To Be A Developer

How I developed a keen interest, motivation, and passion in the web development and technology industry.

Hi, I'm Franklin. I will be sharing a brief story of why I made this career transition into web development, after studying science laboratory technology and biochemistry.

Choosing a career path is one of the most difficult decisions anyone will ever make. In the course of discovering our true selves, we might explore other fields of study and jobs.

Early Interest

Science and technology were always a part of my life as a child; I was always fascinated by the seven wonders of the world and how airplanes flew in the sky. How information is easy to access without the need for an encyclopedia, and how bridges are built across bodies of water all left me in awe.

I could remember creating my first email, Yahoo!, at a cybercafé, having firsthand experience of how messages can be transmitted within seconds abroad without the service of a post office.

But it wasn’t until high school that I got my first mobile phone and discovered how powerful technology was.

It all started when I spent time playing games like Real Football, Need for Speed, Splinter Cell, Vice City, and Die Hard, to name a few. I was curious about how entertaining apps like these were developed

With time, I built my first website on wapka.mobi, cloned some Java phone apps, created custom themes, and experimented with mobile software-hacking Infrared and Bluetooth mobile connectivity. All of these were done using my mobile phone with no formal education.

[Focus]-63027313cac73.jpg

Self-discovery

After graduation from high school, I learned basic computer skills, got better at typing with the help of the Mavis Beacon desktop app, and also gained mastery of Microsoft office suites such as MS Word, MS Excel, and MS PowerPoint. I yearned to learn more, so I focused on graphic design because I loved aesthetics and had a natural ability to sketch.

As I further developed my skills, I tried out different paths like content creation, social media management, and public relations for some time, and I discovered that my strength lies more in technical problem-solving and creativity.

However, I have been nursing the idea of learning web development for a long time, until the outbreak of the global pandemic COVID-19. Having reflected on how I always wanted to be an inventor, I wanted to bring some ideas to life and build something humans could use. I carried out some research on Google and found W3Schools. Dedicating an average of 5 hours daily to study and practice.

[Experience]-6302695161835.jpg

Adventure

At some point, I was not sure what I wanted to do until I came across the Sololearn mobile app. The lessons introduced me to basic front-end development technologies in a gamified approach. I dedicated time to learning and maintaining a longer streak while gaining extra points (XPs) and interacting with the community. It was from there I knew that this is the perfect career for me.

With time I kept exploring the internet for relevant web development tools and resources and also started taking up online courses to stay abreast. Freecodecamp came in handy, having a great curriculum for a self-learner like me. On completion of the responsive web design, I was able to build over ten side projects, participate in two internship programs, and make my first open-source contribution.

What interests me so much about being a developer is that I get to learn something new every day as technology is evolving.

Final thoughts

As a developer, you will likely get criticized, especially if you are making a career transition. You may also get burnout and imposter syndrome, which is normal. You should reflect and focus more on your personal development without comparing yourself with others, but rather learn from others' failures and successes.

Never stop learning and keep practicing.

Thanks for reading! Feel free to share your thoughts in the comment section.