DevRetro 2022: My Year In Review

A recap of my tech journey as a developer in 2022

As the year comes to a close, it is time to run through the challenges, lessons, achievements, milestones, failures, and experiences of the year 2022.

The year 2022 was exciting for me and had a major impact on my journey as a Frontend Developer reaching 87.5% of my goals and gaining professional experience.

This will be my first time writing about a yearly review of my journey as a developer. If you are interested in learning about how I got into tech, check out the article "What inspired me to be a Developer". In four quarters, I will highlight some major events I could remember while navigating the tech ecosystem in 2022.

Highlights

  • Open Source: Made open source contributions to 12+ Projects on GitHub.

  • Personal Development: Took courses on Continous Integration & Continous Deployment, Advanced JavaScript, React, Solidity, and Web3 in general. Learned a new language on Duolingo.

  • Training: Completed two internships as a developer and one technical writing mentorship program.

  • Side Projects: Built 10+ open-source projects with over 980+ stars.

  • Blog: Published over 15 articles on my blog and as a guest author.

  • Purpose: Discovered my Ikigai.

  • Travel: Visited over 10 new cities.

  • Sad moments: Got a couple of rejection emails, my second-ever international speaking engagement was canceled, made a bad investment and multitasking was a bad decision.

2x of previous year Git commits

2x Git commits in 2022

Timeline

Q1: January, February, March

The year kicked off with optimism and a high spirit of determination. I focused more on self-development, learning, and practicing.

Q2: April, May, June

After a period of three months,

  • Worked on 6 personal projects.

  • Won two web3 bounties on Layer3.

  • Joined the ReactPlay community on Aviyel and contributed to the codebase and documentation.

  • Took a course on Introduction to NFTs by Inevitable Academy.

Q3: July, August, September

In the second half of the year,

Q4: October, November, December

As time went by I...

What I look forward to in 2023

It’s an exciting time for me as we hope for a new year. Here's a breakdown of some of the things on my radar:

  • Learn, relearn and unlearn a lot of things.

  • Contribute to more open-source projects.

  • Publish more articles and read more books.

  • Relocate and secure my dream job.

  • Participate in hackathons and launch a major web3 project.

  • Attend and speak at more tech events, twitter spaces, and meetups.

  • Build a community of Decentralized Autonomous Organizations (DAOs) professionals.

I'm glad to have made so much improvement in my career, learning from others, making new friends, getting into technical writing, and participating in DAOs. I look forward to more amazing experiences and opportunities in the coming years.

A heartfelt thanks to you for reading this article and to everyone that has been part of my journey. HAPPY NEW YEAR!

You can find me on Twitter, GitHub, and LinkedIn. I would like to connect with you, you can send a DM.